FREE Webinar Start Your Master Reseller PLR Business


Home » Cricket » Taylor, Matthews, Alam, Athapaththu among new faces for Womens T20 Challenge

Taylor, Matthews, Alam, Athapaththu among new faces for Womens T20 Challenge


The 2nd Women's T20 Challenge will be played in Jaipur and will involve 3 teams

The 2nd Women’s T20 Challenge will be played in Jaipur and will involve 3 teams © BCCI

The Women’s T20 Challenge for 2019 has already seen an increase in the number of teams and matches from last year. But now it will also see an increase in the number of foreign players.

The 2018 edition had just players from England, Australia and New Zealand take part in the first ever Women’s T20 Challenge, played at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai. This time around, the tournament will also welcome players from Sri Lanka, Bangladesh and the Caribbean, giving it more flavour from around the world.

Australian cricketers, however, will not be present during this edition, meaning the likes of Alyssa Healy, Beth Mooney, Meg Lanning, Elysse Perry and Megan Schutt will be missing.

The addition of a new team – Velocity, which will be captained by Mithali Raj and coached by former India cricketer Mamta Maben – and the Australians missing out has provided a chance to a number of other players. Chamari Athapaththu (Sri Lanka), Natalie Sciver, Sophie Ecclestone (both England), Sakera Seiman, Stafanie Taylor, Hayley Mathews (all West Indies), Amelia Kerr (New Zealand) and Jahanara Alam (Bangladesh) will be the new faces this time around, along with a number of Indians.

Each of the teams have a maximum of four foreigners this time around, one lesser from previous year. WV Raman will coach Supernova, who won the one-off game last year, while Trailblazers will be coached by Biju George.

The matches will be played between May 6 and 11 at the Sawai Mansingh Stadium, Jaipur.


Supernova: Harmanpreet Kaur (c), Anuja Patil, Arundhati Reddy, Chamari Athapaththu (SL), Jemima Rodrigues, Lea Tahuhu(NZ), Mansi Joshi, Natalie Sciver(ENG), Poonam Yadav, Priya Punia, Radha Yadav, Sophie Devine(NZ), Taniya Bhatia, Coach: WV Raman

Velocity: Mithali Raj (c), Amelia Kerr (NZ), Danielle Wyatt (ENG), Devika Vaidya, Ekta Bisht, Hayley Matthews (WI), Jahanara Alam (B’DESH), Komal Zhanzad, Shafali Verma, Shikha Pandey, Sushma Verma, Sushree Dibyadarshini, Veda Krishnamurthy, Coach: Mamta Maben

Trailblazers: Smriti Mandhana (c), Bharti Fulmali, Dayalan Hemalatha, Deepti Sharma, Harleen Deol, Jasia Akhtar, Jhulan Goswami, R Kalpana, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Shakera Selman (WI), Sophie Ecclestone (ENG), Stafanie Taylor (WI), Suzie Bates (NZ), Coach: Biju George

© Cricbuzz

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Subscribe To Get This FREE Book


Anthony Morrison’s PWA 2019 Review


Serving Our Readers Since 2004

Thank You For Your ICFO Support

Thanks for Your Likes and Share